RICOCHET INFINITY

For all things Ricochet...
It is currently Mon Oct 23, 2017 7:56 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: The Problem with FRM's
PostPosted: Wed Sep 28, 2016 7:44 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2012 10:30 am
Posts: 188
Location: Ricochet Station, Infinity
Evening all,
I've been playing around with Ricochet Infinity, and it is possible to import FRM and SEQ files into the game.
This is the filepath to the FRM files for the Xtreme Brick Layer, as a test
Image
And here's how things look in-game
Image
One problem!
Immediately after this screenshot was taken, the game crashed.
This tells me that some extra data is required for the files to work properly, as they don't even display in-game.
Not to mention the fact that they freeze the game and leave you up creek without a paddle.
I'm trying this out with some Xtreme assets just to prevent any infringement.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Dec 08, 2016 10:17 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 17, 2014 9:48 am
Posts: 478
Location: St. Johns, Florida, USA
Playing Xtreme levels on RI would be cool, let us know if you make any progress ;)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Dec 09, 2016 6:47 pm 
Offline
Ghost Buster
Ghost Buster
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2004 4:11 pm
Posts: 37254
Location: Stoughton, WI
Tocaraca wrote:
Playing Xtreme levels on RI would be cool, let us know if you make any progress ;)

Ricochet Xtreme Homage by Alf and BigMama is a very well done re-creation of Xtreme for RI.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Dec 09, 2016 11:28 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 16, 2016 1:52 pm
Posts: 30
Location: Philippines
DizzyDee wrote:
Tocaraca wrote:
Playing Xtreme levels on RI would be cool, let us know if you make any progress ;)

Ricochet Xtreme Homage by Alf and BigMama is a very well done re-creation of Xtreme for RI.



Well, that and jluisrf's exact replica of the Xtreme levels as well. I usually prefer the authenticity of the latter.

_________________
Image
"When you made your first custom power-up and have no idea what to do with it..."

15,600+ rings obtained (9/10/2016)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Dec 14, 2016 6:38 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2012 10:30 am
Posts: 188
Location: Ricochet Station, Infinity
Stella-chan wrote:
DizzyDee wrote:
Tocaraca wrote:
Playing Xtreme levels on RI would be cool, let us know if you make any progress ;)

Ricochet Xtreme Homage by Alf and BigMama is a very well done re-creation of Xtreme for RI.



Well, that and jluisrf's exact replica of the Xtreme levels as well. I usually prefer the authenticity of the latter.


Yes it is. I can't deny that Alf and BigMama did a great job at re-creating the levels.
Sometimes, though, I like to return to the older games to get an embracing feeling of nostalgia.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Mar 24, 2017 12:06 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Mar 20, 2017 1:19 am
Posts: 19
If I'm correct, Ricochet Xtreme uses an older version of the FRM and SEQ files. Meaning they aren't really compatible with Infinity. Though SOME can be ported successfully.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Mar 26, 2017 2:00 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2012 10:30 am
Posts: 188
Location: Ricochet Station, Infinity
RicBric83 wrote:
If I'm correct, Ricochet Xtreme uses an older version of the FRM and SEQ files. Meaning they aren't really compatible with Infinity. Though SOME can be ported successfully.


What do you mean ported? To Infinity?
I tried that once with the Brick Layer and it crashed the game.
It's probably gonna become a process of elimination which ones work and which ones don't.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Mar 26, 2017 3:54 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Mar 20, 2017 1:19 am
Posts: 19
I want to add that 90-95% of Xtreme's SEQs DO NOT work in Infinity. (I forgot which ones do work though) The FRMs however, work just fine. Like if you import the main menu background from Xtreme, that would work! :D


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Mar 26, 2017 6:33 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2012 10:30 am
Posts: 188
Location: Ricochet Station, Infinity
RicBric83 wrote:
I want to add that 90-95% of Xtreme's SEQs DO NOT work in Infinity. (I forgot which ones do work though) The FRMs however, work just fine. Like if you import the main menu background from Xtreme, that would work! :D


I see... might give that a try. :-k

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group